Coburg is a district-free medium-sized town in the Bavarian administrative district of Upper Franconia. It’s the seat of the Coburg District Office and is part of the Nuremberg metropolitan region.

From the 16th/17th century until 1918, it was the residential town of the Dukes of Saxe-Coburg. And from the mid-19th to the end of the 20th century, it was a garrison town. Since 1971, Coburg has been the location of a university of applied sciences. Since 2005, Coburg has held the title of European City.

One of the largest castles in Germany, the Veste Coburg, towers above the city.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *